An Open Letter to the Parent of the Screaming Baby on the Airplane

Dear parent of the screaming baby on the airplane:

Keep traveling! Don’t give up!

Now I don’t have children, but if or when I do, I hope to travel with them extensively. When I see you on the plane with arm loads of bags and your wiggly infant, I get inspired. If you can do it, I can do it. Now, I am sure you get your fair share of dirty looks and eye rolls, especially when your baby screams in an octave that wasn’t thought to be humanly possible. Don’t worry about that. You are never going to see those people again. When was the last time you walked down the street and saw a 5-year-old and thought, You were that screaming demon baby on my flight to Hawaii four years ago! I know that when your baby is crying for hours on end it is probably ten times worse for you than it is for me. I know you are doing your best. Your baby isn’t out to get me. He didn’t wake up this morning thinking, “I’m going to reign terror on row 25 and everyone in the general vicinity.” Babies cry. It could be the cabin pressure, it could be exhaustion after 15 hours of travel, he could just want to get off this tin can hurling through the sky like the rest of us. When the going gets tough, and the flight is rough, know that I have your back.

Sincerely,

Lisa

Note: If you have a 7-year-old who is kicking my seat and throwing rubbish over my head and into my lap and you’re doing NOTHING about it…well, that’s a different story.

I'm off to Hawaii-31 years ago!

I’m off to Hawaii-31 years ago!

Leave a Reply

